Intermediate

About

Serving Students in Grades 7 – 8


The LEAP Intermediate School serves 240 students in grades 7 and 8 and works closely with the High School to ensure that students transition to the upper grades ready to tackle a rigorous college preparation curriculum that includes actual college coursework.

Instructional Programs

Accelerated Curriculum & Varied Learning Opportunities

  • Accelerated curriculum that is benchmarked with ninth-grade college-preparatory standards.
  • Instructional program that reflect high school readiness standards in English/reading, mathematics and science, including Algebra
  • Varied learning opportunities through the use of authentic problems, project-based learning, cooperative learning and technology.
  • High expectations for all students and ongoing support through extended academic support opportunities and differentiated instruction in the classroom.
  • Focus on improving students’ reading and writing skills that engage students in reading grade-level materials specific to each content area — English, Math, Science and Social Studies
  • High expectations for all students and ongoing support through extended academic support opportunities and differentiated instruction in the classroom.
  • School’s culture and daily routines and opportunities that focus on engaging students intellectually, emotionally, socially and behaviorally, high-quality guidance and advisement through the college access center and personal connections with adults and parents.

Principal's Message

Welcome to the LEAP Intermediate School

As principal of grades 7-8, it is my personal commitment to ensure that we prepare students to enter high school prepared and ready to tackle the academic rigor that is required to prepare for college. We are collectively working to ensure that our students enter high school as critical thinkers, lifelong learners and leaders. Our message is clear—how you prepare for high school will determine your chances to enter and succeed in college. Therefore, our commitment is to preparing 7th and 8th graders to succeed and excel in the academic courses they will take in high school.

We stand by our promise that every child will achieve academic excellence, and to do so we have assembled an amazing team of teachers, support staff and a wide variety of educational resources to ensure that every student has everything they need to be successful. This is our commitment to all parents and students.

Our commitment to children goes beyond academics and integrates opportunities for students to develop their own social and emotional capacity. We hold every staff member accountable for the academic future of our students. We have high expectations for all of our staff, students and parents. We expect that all of our students will demonstrate interest, enthusiasm, motivation and pleasure for learning.

Children are our greatest natural resource. As your school principal, I take my educational responsibility to children very seriously. I believe that it is my responsibility to assist teachers and students in their learning journey. High quality instruction and positive engagement is at the core of our school for every student, in every classroom, every day. It is my goal to lead and produce magic!!

Thank you for allowing us to serve you!

Sincerely,

Barbara Dunlap

“People don’t care how much we know until they know how much we care.”  —Author Unknown

Faculty/Staff


Administration

  • Building Administration

Faculty

  • English Teachers
  • Math Teachers
  • Social Studies Teacher
  • Science Teachers
  • Spanish Teacher
  • Special Services
  • Special Area Teachers (Arts, Music, Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

Staff

  • Support Staff

Building Administration

Amir Ayres

Assistant to the Principal

856-614-3243aayres@leap.rutgers.edu

Lidia Rivera

Office Manager

856-614-3292lrivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Elise Rocco

Supervisor of Literacy, K-8

856-614-3292 Ext. 7221erocco@leap.rutgers.edu

English Teachers

Erin Gartland

7th Grade English Teacher

egartland@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Patricia Harkins

7th Grade English Teacher

pharkins@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Sarah Pickell

8th Grade English Teacher

spickell@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

William Skipper

8th Grade English Teacher

wskipper@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Math Teachers

Jennifer Mooney

7th Grade Math Teacher

jmooney@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Tammy Sherlock

7th Grade Math Teacher

tsherlock@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Cristina Burrows

8th Grade Math Teacher

cburrows@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Sandra Heintz

8th Grade Math Teacher

sheintz@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Science Teachers

Alaina Golden

7th & 8th Grade Science Teacher

agolden@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Kelvin Gonzalez

7th & 8th Grade Science Teacher Fellow

kgonzalez@leap.rutgers.edu

Spanish Teacher

Sofia Capinha

7th & 8th Grade Spanish Teacher

scapinha@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Special Services

Casey Dawson

Special Education Teacher

cdawson@leap.rutgers.edu

Courtney Dorrell

Special Education Teacher

cdorrell@leap.rutgers.edu

Naeemah Jones-Polhill

READ 180/ELA Teacher

njones-polhill@leap.rutgers.edu

Jennifer Irizarry-Rivera

ESL Teacher Fellow

jirizarryrivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Special Area Teachers (Arts, Music, Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

Alicia Crump

9th Grade Health Teacher

acrump@leap.rutgers.edu

Chris McCrum

Technology Teacher

cmccrum@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Terika Floyd

Art Teacher Fellow

tfloyd@leap.rutgers.edu

Support Staff

Tyrell Johnson

College Access Program Associate

856-614-3292tjohnson@leap.rutgers.edu

Jose Ortiz

Custodian

Carmen Cintron

Custodian

Nutrition

View & Download Menus for Intermediate Students

Food is cooked daily in each school. The staff works diligently to provide balanced and nutritious meals. Menus are available each week.

ESL Program

English as a Second Language (ESL) Program

LEAP Academy’s ESL Program aims to provide culturally and linguistically responsive education for all English language learners to ensure equitable access to opportunities that promote language acquisition, life long learning, and global citizenship.

Click here to learn more