Upper Elementary

About

Serving students in grades 4-6


The Upper Elementary School serves 360 children in grades 4-6 and builds on the foundational skills learned in K-3. The school focuses on providing every student with a strong academic foundation in math and language arts using integrated approaches that incorporate science, social studies and world languages.

Instructional Programs

Developing Communication Skills & Nurturing Values

  • An academic program delivered through content specialized departments to ensure that students are taught Mathematics and Language Arts by content certified teachers.
  • Strong focus on English/Language Arts skills development to ensure that students become strategic readers, writers, and oral communicators.
  • Varied opportunities for students to expand thinking skills (including metacognitive and critical-thinking skills), and to develop the necessary habits of mind, motivation to learn and independence as a learner.
  • Structured opportunities for students to develop life skills such as articulating a vision, decision making, building self-confidence and self-discipline, and accepting responsibility to complete tasks from start to finish.
  • A commitment to nurturing important values, including team-building skills, respecting alternative viewpoints, and appreciating and being aware of different cultures and traditions.

Principal's Message

Welcome to the Upper Elementary School

As principal of grades 4-8 and a LEAP family member for 16 years, it is my personal commitment to ensure that we teach students to be critical thinkers, lifelong learners and leaders. Collectively, our students and staff maintain a school environment that is safe, positive and has an intense focus on mastering the Common Core State Standards, and the competencies that are necessary for our students to be college and career ready. We stand by our promise that every child will achieve academic excellence, and to do so we have assembled an amazing team of teachers, support staff and a wide variety of educational resources to ensure that every student has everything they need to be successful. This is our commitment to all parents and students.

Our commitment to children goes beyond academics and integrates opportunities for students to develop their own social and emotional capacity. We expect that our students and staff will be able to build and maintain a cohesive sense of community and learn to be “Pro-Kind” each and every day. It is my belief that all members of the educational community are accountable for the academic future of our students and that they are working to create a nurturing, safe and secure learning environment. We have high expectations for all of our staff and welcome your partnership and collaboration. We expect that all of our students will demonstrate interest, enthusiasm, motivation and pleasure for learning.

Children are our greatest natural resource. As your school principal, I take my educational responsibility to children very seriously. I believe that it is my responsibility to assist teachers and students in their learning journey. High quality instruction and positive engagement is at the core of our school for every student, in every classroom, every day. It is my goal to lead and produce magic!!

Thank you for allowing us to serve you!

Sincerely,

Barbara Dunlap

“People don’t care how much we know until they know how much we care.”  —Author Unknown

Faculty/Staff


Administration

  • Building Administration

Faculty

  • Fourth Grade
  • Fifth Grade
  • Sixth Grade
  • Special Services
  • Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM & ESL, Spanish)

Staff

  • Support Staff

Building Administration

Jozian Molina

Assistant to the Principal

856-614-5073jmolina@leap.rutgers.edu

Nellybel Nunez

Office Manager

856-614-5094nnunez@leap.rutgers.edu

Tameka Matthews

Director of Special Services

856-614-5080tmatthews@leap.rutgers.edu

Fourth Grade

Davenia Fisher

Math/Science Teacher

Debra Long Math/Science TeacherWebsite

Debra Long

Math/Science Teacher

dlong@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Nicole Maenner

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

mmaenner@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Maria Orlina

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

morlina@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Kristen Perrine

Math/Science Teacher

kperrine@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Aliya Robertson

Teacher Fellow-Substitute

arobertson@leap.rutgers.edu

Fifth Grade

Marie Green

Math/Science Teacher

mgreen@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Anna Marie Perrone

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

aperrone@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Shirley Saed

Math/Science Teacher

ssaed@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Christine Skalka

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

cskalka@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Matt Steen

Math/Science Teacher

msteen@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Robin Vicino

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

rvicino@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Delaine Mercer

5th Grade Teacher Fellow

dmercer@leap.rutgers.edu

Sixth Grade

Stephanie Aspenburg

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

saspenburg@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Dana Ciesielski

Math/Science Teacher

dciesielski@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

John Durney

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

jdurney@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Edward Evans

LAL/Social Studies Teacher

tevans@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Michael Hoover

Math/Science Teacher

mhoover@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Amy Pekarchik

Math/Science Teacher

apekarchik@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Special Services

Rachel Caione

Special Education Teacher

rcaione@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Julia Kogan

Special Education Teacher

jkogan@leap.rutgers.edu

Jamie Lescher

Special Education Teacher

jlescher@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Sara Mungiole

Special Education Teacher

smungiole@leap.rutgers.edu

Na'eemah Jones-Polhill

READ 180/ELA Teacher

njones-polhill@leap.rutgers.edu

Carole Pearson

READ 180/ELA Teacher

cpearson@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM & ESL, Spanish)

Michael DiNuova

Health/P.E. Teacher

mdinuova@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Richard Marino

Health/P.E. Teacher

rmarino@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Nina Speart

Art 4th - 8th Grade Teacher

nspeart@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Silvia Vasquez

PLTW/Technology Teacher

svasquez@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Support Staff

Elisabel Laluz

College Access Program Associate

856-614-5079elaluz@leap.rutgers.edu

Raul Agosto

Director of Facilities Mechanic

856-614-5050ragosto@leap.rutgers.edu

Charles Benito

Director of Data and Assessment

856-614-5603cbenito@leap.rutgers.edu

Guillermo Cruz

Custodian

Luz Otero

Custodian

Nutrition

View & Download Menus for Upper Elementary Students

Food is cooked daily in each school. The staff works diligently to provide balanced and nutritious meals. Menus are available each week.