High School

About

Serving Students in Grades 9-12


The LEAP High School serves 480 students in grades 9–12, and represents the culmination of the academic trajectory of students at the LEAP Academy. The High School Program is structured to simulate the college experience and to expose students to academic coursework, sequences and expectations that build their level of college readiness, motivation and self assurance about a college career. 100% of LEAP seniors graduate and 100% are accepted to college.

The High School is structured in three academies: (a) STEM/STEAM, (b) Liberal Arts/Social Studies, and (c) Business. During the 9th and 10th grades, students take core foundation courses, which prepares them for one of the academies. During the 11th and 12th grades, they choose an Academy and focus in a specialized track. The aim is to simulate the college experience by having students take general coursework followed by a major.

Students participate in Dual College enrollment and during their senior year, they enroll in college courses at Rowan and Rutgers Universities through the LEAP Early College.

Dual-Enrollment Participation

LEAP Academy students are offered the opportunity to take dual-enrollment course work once they reach the ninth grade, and the number of dual-enrollment participants has increased exponentially since 2009.

LEAP Transcripts

To request your official LEAP Transcript, please download the Transcript Request Form, complete it, and email the completed form to: csepulveda@leap.rutgers.edu.

Principal's Message

Welcome to LEAP Academy STEAM High School

LEAP Academy will celebrate its 20th year as a transformative agent for children, youth and families in the City of Camden. As the principal of the STEAM High School, I look forward to working with you this year to ensure the academic success and future college placement of your child and OUR student.

The STEAM High School is focused on college readiness with a curriculum emphasis on STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Math) content areas. Housed in the LEAP High School Academies, specific multidisciplinary program areas allow students, in as early as grade 9, to experience college preparatory rigor in one of the three Academy areas: Business Academy; Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Academy; and the STEM Academy. This content area also allows students to explore different career options prior to choosing a college or university.

To further enhance the LEAP STEAM experience and further build on college-readiness expectations, LEAP has created dual enrollment partnerships with Rutgers-Camden, Rowan University and Cabrini University. These partnerships place opportunities for our students to complete college level dual enrollment courses in as early as the 10th grade. In addition, this year LEAP’s Senior class will take 21-30 credits of college courses at Rutgers Camden and Rowan University. This will make LEAP the only high school in the City of Camden that offers the first year of College in the 12th grade. This commitment to the students will be supported by dedicated teaching and College Access staff, to ensure that each and every Senior has an avenue for success.

In addition to academic success, we also know how to have fun at LEAP. Our students can choose from multiple extracurricular activities that support and expand upon what they have learned in the classroom (like our FabLAB club) or provide an opportunity for athletic competition.

LEAP Academy has developed several partnerships over its 20 years of success. These partnerships were created to help enhance and promote the educational trajectory of our students. From the beginning LEAP has known that no partnership is more important than our partnership with you the parent/guardian of our student. As your LEAP STEAM High School Principal, I look forward to continuing this legacy of parental partnership and involvement through the 2017-18 school year.
Let’s work together to create a bright and successful school year and college future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Calixto
Principal, 9th -12th
LEAP Academy STEAM SENIOR HIGH School
130 Broadway Street
Camden, NJ 08102
jcalixto@leap.rutgers.edu
Office Phone: 856-614-5600
Cell phone: 973-333-7686
Secretary: 856-614-7103

Instructional Programs

Early College & Specialized Academies

  • School culture and conditions that facilitate teaching and learning at a college level.
  • Early college and dual credit courses for all seniors to guarantee graduation with over 20 college credits.
  • Content specialized teachers that are enthusiastic and highly qualified about their fields.
  • Opportunity to choose a specialized Academy as the academic focus to increase student ownership for learning and simulate the college experience.
  • College Access Center that provides ongoing support on academic as well as non-academic areas to ensure students are on track for graduation and college enrollment.
  • Emphasis in developing core academic skills, such as writing and analytic thinking and non-cognitive skill development, including behaviors that reflect greater student self-awareness, self-monitoring, and self-control— study skills, work habits, time management, help-seeking behavior, and social problem solving skills.
  • Every student is assigned a laptop and has access to to varied technology around the school, including 3-D printers, computer labs and smart boards.
  • Access to opportunities to participate in academic summer programs and other leadership and academic programs that augment college preparation.

LEAP Academies

LEAP Academies

Similar to that of any college or university, the LEAP STEAM High School course of study is comprised of three academies (Business, STEAM/STEM and Liberal Arts), which contain multiple concentrations. Below is a list of concentrations, complete with descriptions so that you know what your options are for your course of study throughout high school. After you select what concentration option is best for you, all course registrations will be made with an advisor in The Center for College Access.

You will be able to use one of the below concentrations as a precursor to selecting a college major and determining what career path you would like to follow. If and when you have any questions about how your high school concentration will impact your college education, please reach out to an advisor with The Center for College Access.

LEAP STEAM High School Concentration Options

Liberal Arts Academy

Learn More

Business Academy

Learn More

STEAM/STEM Academy

Learn More

Early College

Early College

Starting in Fall 2017, all seniors at LEAP enroll in the Early College Program and will enroll in courses at Rutgers University and Rowan University. Through the Early College Initiative, high school students have the opportunity to complete college level courses while still in high school. LEAP seniors will complete up to 30 college credits. The focus is on transforming the senior year of high school into the first year of college. The Early College concept expands the school’s Dual College Enrollment program by which selected group of high school students take selected college courses as part of their high school year. Students that graduate from high school with these many college credits enter the university with an advantage in terms of college readiness, as well as credits already completed. This provides them with an opportunity to finish college on time and to perform at a higher academic level.

Message from the Director

During my time at LEAP Academy, I have had the opportunity to work firsthand in expanding our dual-enrollment offerings. I truly believe that dual-enrollment coursework is one of the most important opportunities that LEAP Academy is able to leverage for it’s students. I have worked side by side with college admissions officers and administrators to place LEAP Academy students in college coursework, including College Composition, Calculus, Intro to Psychology, and Biology. Although college level coursework can be incredibly challenging, it can often be an exceedingly rewarding experience. Previous participants in LEAP Academy’s dual-enrollment program have gone on to attend numerous prestigious institutions including Princeton, UPenn, Georgetown, Swarthmore, Temple, Rutgers, and Rowan University. The LEAP Dual-Enrollment Program has also become an incredibly effective recruiting tool for Rutgers University, our primary partner in furthering the legacy of ensuring 100% graduation and college placement a for the students of LEAP Academy. Establishing a full-scale dual-enrollment program for each of our graduating seniors is simply the next logical step in continuing to transform the education landscape in the city of Camden.

I have spent nearly my entire life living and working in the city of Camden, and I have dedicated my life to providing the children of the community the best possible opportunity to achieve long-term academic and professional success. LEAP Academy has proven to be a game-changer in the city of Camden, and I am honored to be able to rewrite history each and everyday. I have no doubt in my mind that the LEAP Academy Class of 2018 will continue to uphold LEAP Academy’s quarter century legacy of excellence!

Khary Golden
Chief Innovation Officer/Director of Early College

Why Early College?

  • Research has shown the earlier introduction to college courses leads to better long-term academic outcomes.
  • High quality dual enrollment can have a powerful impact on students’ post-secondary success, yet few opportunities are available to low-income students in inner cities.
  • Students who get college experience in high school have a higher high school graduation rate and are less likely to take basic skills courses once they enrolled in college.
  • Dual-enrollment students are more likely to attend and persist in college once they completed high school.
  • Reinforces LEAP’s college culture and support the expectation that each student will attend college and develop career aspirations.
  • Early College students have more positive high school experiences than comparison students, including positive experiences as follows:
    • The rigor of their high school experiences
    • Their high school’s college-going culture
    • The level of instructor support
    • The quality of support for completing college and financial aid applications

Early College Courses for the 2017-2018 Academic Year

Rutgers University

Learn More

Rowan University

Learn More

Faculty/Staff


Administration

  • District Administration
  • Wellness Clinic
  • Building Administration & Support Staff
  • College Access

Faculty

  • English Teachers
  • Math Teachers
  • Science Teachers
  • History Teachers
  • Special Services
  • Business Teachers
  • Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

District Administration

Manuel Delgado

Lead Person/Chief Operations Officer

856-614-3234mdelgado@leap.rutgers.edu

Kenneth Verrill

Chief Financial Officer/SBA

856-614-5086kverrill@leap.rutgers.edu

Michelle Fiordimondo

Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Professional Development

856-614-5640 Ext. 700608mfiordimondo@leap.rutgers.edu

Jessica Pierre-Louis

Director of Data & Accountability

856-614-5082jpierrelouis@leap.rutgers.edu

Traquillia Kennedy

Deputy Chief of Human resources Officer

856-614-5083tkennedy@leap.rutgers.edu

Steve Pierre-Jacques

Director of Information Technology

856-614-3233pjsteve@leap.rutgers.edu

Gladys Robreno

Director of Wellness, Family Support & Behavioral Health

856-614-2099grobreno@leap.rutgers.edu

Norma Agron

Director of Enrollment, Student Records & Transportation Services

856-614-5089normar@leap.rutgers.edu

Diana Crespo

Assistant Director to Enrollment & Transportation

856-614-3242dcabassa@leap.rutgers.edu

Carlos Mattei-Ramos

Director of FAB Lab

856-614-5640 Ext. 700314cmattei@leap.rutgers.edu

David Salas de La Cruz

Faculty Associate for Science Department

david.salas@camden.rutgers.edu

Massimo DeSiano

Technology Specialist

856-614-5640 Ext. 700312mdesiano@leap.rutgers.edu

Beverly Johnson

Assistant to the SBA for Payroll

856-614-5090bjohnson@leap.rutgers.edu

Kimberly Fitzpatrick

Assistant to the SBA for Finance &Grant/Business Office Manager

856-614-5096kfitzpatrick@leap.rutgers.edu

Sylvia Hunt

School Bus Driver/Accounts Payable Clerk

856-614-5095shunt@leap.rutgers.edu

Syka Jimenez

School Bus Driver/Student Service Support

sjimenez@leap.rutgers.edu

Maria Gonzalez

School Bus Driver/Student Service Support

mgonzalez@leap.rutgers.edu

Grace Begley

Enrollment Specialist

856-614-2092gbegley@leap.rutgers.edu

Michelle Roman-Colon

District Office Manager

856-614-5085mroman@leap.rutgers.edu

Michelle Gardner

Family Services Support Teacher Fellow

856-614-5640 Ext. 701024mgardner@leap.rutgers.edu

Jeanette Rodriguez-Colon

Family Services Support Teacher Fellow

856-614-5640 Ext. 701024jrodriguezcolon@leap.rutgers.edu

Wellness Clinic

Dr. Velmina Rivera, MD, FAAP

Chief Medical Officer

856-614-5610 opt. 1vsrivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Jacqueline DePrince

Office Manager- Wellness Center

856-614-5610 opt. 1jdeprince@leap.rutgers.edu

Clara McCauley, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse

856-614-5610 opt. 1cmccauley@leap.rutgers.edu

Ruby Rivera

Clinical Program Associate

856-614-5610 opt. 1rrivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Building Administration & Support Staff

Angel Rivera

Assistant to the Principal

856-614-5641arivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Kassandra Alvarado

Dean of Student Culture

856-614-5640 Ext. 700607kalvarado@leap.rutgers.edu

Destinie Rivera

SHS Office Manager

856-614-5640drivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Laurie Peterson-Faust

Fitness Center Coordinator

lpeterson@leap.rutgers.edu

College Access

Marchelle Roberts

Director of College Access

856-614-3235mroberts@leap.rutgers.edu

Claudia L. Sepulveda

Director of Student Support Services and Accountability

856-614-5049csepulveda@leap.rutgers.edu

English Teachers

Ashley DeLuce

English Teacher

adeluce@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Stephanie Depew

English Teacher

sdepew@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Dorothy Galanaugh

English Teacher

dgalanaugh@leap.rutgers.edu

Lauren Kohout

English Teacher

lkohout@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Math Teachers

Glen Butterworth

Math Teacher

gbutterworth@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Katherine Jankowksi

Math Teacher

kjankowski@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Melvin Monte

Math Teacher

mmonte@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Helen Uttaratoi

Math Teacher

huttaratoi@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Kyra Jenkins

Math Teacher Fellow

kjenkins@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Science Teachers

Steven Brownstein

Biology Teacher

bbrownstein@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Daniel Klehamer

Physics Teacher

dklehamer@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Randy Smith

Biology Teacher

rsmith@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Maxine Tauber

Chemistry Teacher

mtauber@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

History Teachers

Brooke Bivona

History Teacher

bbivona@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Michael Burke

History Teacher

mburke@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Michael Rhea

History Teacher

mhrea@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Ray Rossi

History Teacher

rrossi@leap.rutgers.edu

Ross Bear

Teacher Fellow History

rbear@leap.rutgers.edu

Special Services

Britney McLeod

Special Education Teacher

bmcleod@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Helen Redmond

Special Education Teacher

hredmond@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jessica Refsnider

Special Education Teacher

jrefsnider@leap.rutgers.edu

Jason Smith

Special Education Teacher

jsmith@leap.rutgers.edu

Sonia Chugh

ESL Teacher

schugh@leap.rutgers.edu

Sindy Bonilla

ESL Teacher Fellow

sbonilla@leap.rutgers.edu

Business Teachers

Daniel Blackman

Business Teacher

dblackman@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Michael Hand

Business Teacher Fellow

mhand@leap.rutgers.edu

Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

Amanda Phillip

Health/PE Teacher

aphillip@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Christine Hughes

Health/PE Teacher

ccavallo@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jesse Barton

Art Teacher

jbarton@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jonathan Delgado-Pena

Industrial Art Teacher Fellow

jdelgadopena@leap.rutgers.edu

Jessica Dixon

Dance Teacher

jdixon@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Chris McCrum

Technology Teacher

cmccrum@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Gloria Bernal Gomez

Spanish Teacher

bernalgomez@leap.rutgers.edu

Nutrition

View & Download Menus for High School Students

Food is cooked daily in each school. The staff works diligently to provide balanced and nutritious meals. Menus are available each week.