High School

About

Serving Students in Grades 9-12


The LEAP High School serves 480 students in grades 9–12, and represents the culmination of the academic trajectory of students at the LEAP Academy. The High School Program is structured to simulate the college experience and to expose students to academic coursework, sequences and expectations that build their level of college readiness, motivation and self assurance about a college career. 100% of LEAP seniors graduate and 100% are accepted to college.

The High School is structured in three academies: (a) STEM/STEAM, (b) Liberal Arts/Social Studies, and (c) Business. During the 9th and 10th grades, students take core foundation courses, which prepares them for one of the academies. During the 11th and 12th grades, they choose an Academy and focus in a specialized track. The aim is to simulate the college experience by having students take general coursework followed by a major.

Students participate in Dual College enrollment and during their senior year, they enroll in college courses at Rowan and Rutgers Universities through the LEAP Early College.

Dual-Enrollment Participation

LEAP Academy students are offered the opportunity to take dual-enrollment course work once they reach the ninth grade, and the number of dual-enrollment participants has increased exponentially since 2009.

 

 

 

Instructional Programs

Early College & Specialized Academies

  • School culture and conditions that facilitate teaching and learning at a college level.
  • Early college and dual credit courses for all seniors to guarantee graduation with over 20 college credits.
  • Content specialized teachers that are enthusiastic and highly qualified about their fields.
  • Opportunity to choose a specialized Academy as the academic focus to increase student ownership for learning and simulate the college experience.
  • College Access Center that provides ongoing support on academic as well as non-academic areas to ensure students are on track for graduation and college enrollment.
  • Emphasis in developing core academic skills, such as writing and analytic thinking and non-cognitive skill development, including behaviors that reflect greater student self-awareness, self-monitoring, and self-control— study skills, work habits, time management, help-seeking behavior, and social problem solving skills.
  • Every student is assigned a laptop and has access to to varied technology around the school, including 3-D printers, computer labs and smart boards.
  • Access to opportunities to participate in academic summer programs and other leadership and academic programs that augment college preparation.

LEAP Academies

LEAP Academies

Similar to that of any college or university, the LEAP STEAM High School course of study is comprised of three academies (Business, STEAM/STEM and Liberal Arts), which contain multiple concentrations. Below is a list of concentrations, complete with descriptions so that you know what your options are for your course of study throughout high school. After you select what concentration option is best for you, all course registrations will be made with an advisor in The Center for College Access.

You will be able to use one of the below concentrations as a precursor to selecting a college major and determining what career path you would like to follow. If and when you have any questions about how your high school concentration will impact your college education, please reach out to an advisor with The Center for College Access.

LEAP STEAM High School Concentration Options

Liberal Arts Academy

Learn More

Business Academy

Learn More

STEAM/STEM Academy

Learn More

Early College

Early College


Starting in Fall 2017, all seniors at LEAP enroll in the Early College Program and will enroll in courses at Rutgers University and Rowan University. Through the Early College Initiative, high school students have the opportunity to complete college level courses while still in high school. LEAP seniors will complete up to 30 college credits. The focus is on transforming the senior year of high school into the first year of college. The Early College concept expands the school’s Dual College Enrollment program by which selected group of high school students take selected college courses as part of their high school year. Students that graduate from high school with these many college credits enter the university with an advantage in terms of college readiness, as well as credits already completed. This provides them with an opportunity to finish college on time and to perform at a higher academic level.

Why Early College?

  • Research has shown the earlier introduction to college courses leads to better long-term academic outcomes.
  • High quality dual enrollment can have a powerful impact on students’ post-secondary success, yet few opportunities are available to low-income students in inner cities.
  • Students who get college experience in high school have a higher high school graduation rate and are less likely to take basic skills courses once they enrolled in college.
  • Dual-enrollment students are more likely to attend and persist in college once they completed high school.
  • Reinforces LEAP’s college culture and support the expectation that each student will attend college and develop career aspirations.
  • Early College students have more positive high school experiences than comparison students, including positive experiences as follows:
    • The rigor of their high school experiences
    • Their high school’s college-going culture
    • The level of instructor support
    • The quality of support for completing college and financial aid applications

Early College Courses for the 2019-2020 Academic Year

Rutgers University

Learn More

Rowan University

Learn More

Transcripts

LEAP Transcripts

To request your official LEAP Transcript, please download the Transcript Request Form, complete it, and email the completed form to: mroberts@leap.rutgers.edu

Faculty/Staff


Administration

  • Building Administration
  • Support Staff
  • Wellness Clinic
  • College Access

Faculty

  • English Teachers
  • Math Teachers
  • Science Teachers
  • History Teachers
  • Special Services
  • Business Teachers
  • Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

Building Administration

Kaitlyn McWilliams

Instructional Principal 9-12

kmcwilliams@leap.rutgers.edu

Kassandra Alvarado

Dean of Students

856-614-5640kalvarado@leap.rutgers.edu

Chris McCrum

Director of FAB Lab

856-614-5776cmccrum@leap.rutgers.edu

Support Staff

Massimo DeSiano

Technology Specialist

856-614-5640 Ext. 700312mdesiano@leap.rutgers.edu

Robert Hinchliffe

Technology Specialist

rhinchliffe@leap.rutgers.edu

Donna Robertson

Special Programs Coordinator

856-614-5779drobertson@leap.rutgers.edu

Lisa Lozada-Shaw

Social Worker K-5

856-614-5773llozada-shaw@leap.rutgers.edu

Brittany Graeber

Social Worker 6-12

856-614-5774bgraeber@leap.rutgers.edu

Wellness Clinic

Dr. Velmina Rivera, MD, FAAP

Chief Medical Officer

856-614-5610 opt. 1vsrivera@leap.rutgers.edu

Jacqueline DePrince

Office Manager- Wellness Center

856-614-5610 opt. 1jdeprince@leap.rutgers.edu

Clara McCauley, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse

856-614-5610 opt. 1cmccauley@leap.rutgers.edu

Kriza Santos

Clinical Program Associate

856-614-5610 opt. 1ksantos@leap.rutgers.edu

College Access

Marchelle Roberts

Director of College Access and Students Success

856-614-3235mroberts@leap.rutgers.edu

English Teachers

Stephanie Depew

English Teacher

sdepew@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Matthew Allen

English Teacher

mallen@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Juliana Perez

Writing Teacher

jperez@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jennifer Irizarry-Rivera

English Teacher

jirizarryrivera@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Theresa Selover

English Teacher

tselover@leap.rutgers.edu

Math Teachers

Glen Butterworth

Math Teacher

gbutterworth@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Katherine Jankowksi

Math Teacher

kjankowski@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Melvin Monte

Math Teacher

mmonte@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Helen Uttaratoi

Math Teacher

huttarotai@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Science Teachers

Scott Davis

ScienceTeacher

sdavis@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Alexandra Sarno

Science Teacher

ASarno@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Randy Smith

ScienceTeacher

rsmith@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jeff Thomas

ScienceTeacher

jthomas@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Ann Romano-Pringle

ScienceTeacher

aromanopringle@leap.rutgers.edu

History Teachers

Ryan Koch

History Teacher

rkoch@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Luis Declet

History Teacher

ldeclet@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Ray Rossi

History Teacher

rrossi@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Michael Rhea

History Teacher

MRhea@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Ross Bear

History Teacher

Ross BearWebsite

Special Services

Regina Kaufman

Special Education Teacher

rkaufman@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Jessica Petrutz

Special Education Teacher

jrefsnider@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Julia Kogan

Special Education Teacher

jkogan@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Sonia Chugh

ESL Teacher

schugh@leap.rutgers.eduwebsite

Joseline Del Moral Zenquiz

ESL Teacher Fellow

JDelMoralZenquiz@leap.rutgers.edu

Octavius Crowley

Instructional Assistant 1-1

ocrowley@leap.rutgers.edu

Business Teachers

Helen Redmond

Statistics/Business Teacher

hredmond@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Christopher Scheid

Business Teacher

CScheid@leap.rutgers.edu

Special Area Teachers (Arts, Dance, Music,Theater, GYM, ESL, & Spanish)

Alicia Crump

Health/PE Teacher

acrump@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Adam Moss

Health/PE Teacher

amoss@leap.rutgers.edu

Jeffrey Phillips

Art Teacher

jphillips@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Bethany Kelsey

Dance Teacher

bkelsey@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Greg Goss

Computer Science Teacher

ggoss@leap.rutgers.eduWebsite

Nutrition

View & Download Menus for High School Students

Food is cooked daily in each school. The staff works diligently to provide balanced and nutritious meals. Menus are available each week.

ESL & Special Service

English as a Second Language (ESL) Program


LEAP Academy’s ESL Program aims to provide culturally and linguistically responsive education for all English language learners to ensure equitable access to opportunities that promote language acquisition, life long learning, and global citizenship.

Click here to learn more